How Kairoo differs from parental controls, product by product.
Kairoo is an intelligent operating layer for a family’s digital life, and it starts with screens. Parent and child write the agreement together and both sign it; Kairoo then does the reminding, negotiating, explaining and enforcing on the parent’s behalf, with a reason for every no, and the child gets a safe space to practise agency. A parental control is set by the parent alone. Kairoo sees time and apps, never messages or location. Built in the UK with Nesta.
Kairoo next to seven screen time products, on nine questions. Checked 11 September 2026; prices are the vendors’ own listings on that date.
The table scrolls sideways. Kairoo is the first column.
| Kairoo | Apple Screen Time | Google Family Link | Microsoft Family Safety | Qustodio | Norton Family | Bark | TAP | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Who writes the rules | Parent and child, together | Parent | Parent | Parent, as organiser | Parent | Parent, as house rules | Parent | Teen proposes, parent responds |
| Does the child sign them | Yes, both sign | No | No | No | No | No | No | Yes, everyone signs |
| What it can see | Time and apps | App and website use, pickups | App time, location | App use, Edge browsing, searches | Browsing, social, messages, location | Web use, searches, apps, location | Texts, email, 30+ apps, photos, location | Nothing; teen check-ins |
| When the limit comes | Reminder, then bank it, ask, or spend it | Block, or a reminder that can be ignored | Device locks | Device or app blocked | Lock internet, lock device, or alert parent | Block, or allow and notify | Apps blocked by schedule | Nothing on the device |
| Asking for more time | Ask Kairoo; parent only if outside the agreement | Yes, parent approves | Parent password on the device; parent adds bonus time | Yes, parent approves | Yes on iOS, parent approves | Yes, with a note; parent approves | Parent override only | Not described; teens renegotiate |
| Does the child get a reason | Yes, with every no | Not described | Not described | Not described | A decline is not passed on | Not described | Not described | Terms negotiated up front |
| Freedom over time | Widens as trust is earned; the child can ask for a change | Parent adds more when ready | Not described | Not described | Not described | Not described; defaults by age range | Not described | Teens can renegotiate |
| Devices | Android phones today | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Vision Pro | Android, Chromebook; iPhone partly | Windows, Xbox, Android | Windows, Mac, Chromebook, Android, iPhone, iPad, Kindle | Windows, Android, iOS | iPhone, iPad, Android, computers, Chromebook, Fire tablet | iOS; Android not verified |
| Price, with date checked | Early access; price not yet set | Included with the device, 11 September 2026 | Free, 11 September 2026 | Free, 11 September 2026 | £43.95 or £75.95 a year, 11 September 2026 | £14.99 first year, 11 September 2026 | $99 a year (USD); not sold in the UK, 11 September 2026 | Not verified, 11 September 2026 |
Checked 11 September 2026. Prices are the vendors’ own listings on that date, in pounds where the vendor lists one; Bark has no UK price because it is not sold in the UK. Kairoo’s column is what its own page says; Kairoo is in early access. “Not described” means the maker’s own pages do not say.
What Kairoo does that the others do not
A parental control is a wall you put up around your child, and you hold it. Kairoo is an intelligent operating layer for your family’s digital life, and it starts with screens. The two of you write the agreement together and both sign it, and from then on Kairoo acts inside that boundary on your behalf: the reminding, the negotiating, the explaining and the holding of the line. The friction that used to land on you every evening lands on Kairoo instead, and you do not have to be the bad cop in your own home. Every statement below about another product comes from that maker’s own pages, checked on 11 September 2026, and each product is described in its own terms further down.
- An agreement your child helped write, and signed. When screens start and stop, how long, which apps, and how extra time can be asked for, agreed once, in about ten minutes, and signed by both of you. On the six parental controls here the rules are set by the parent, and none has a record both of you sign. TAP negotiates and signs too, and is the one exception.
- The reminding, the negotiating, the explaining and the holding of the line, done for you. Gentle reminders as the limit gets close, then Kairoo does what was agreed. When your child wants more, they ask Kairoo, not you. When the answer is no, Kairoo says so, and says why. On the six parental controls the device blocks or locks, shows a reminder the child can ignore, or alerts you; none of their pages describes the child being told why, beyond a notice that the limit or the rule has been reached.
- A reason with every no. What was asked for, what the agreement says, and how today’s time was spent, on your child’s phone at the moment it matters. No parental control here describes telling the child what was asked for, what the rule says and how the day’s time was spent, and Qustodio says that if you decline a request, your child is not told. TAP settles the terms up front and says nothing on the device.
- Asks answered by the agreement, not by you. Kairoo sorts them into three kinds. The everyday ask, ten more minutes with fifteen spare under the agreement, is settled by Kairoo and nothing reaches your phone. The middle-sized ask, thirty minutes for a tournament when the ceiling is ten, is decided inside your ceiling, explained to your child, and reported to you afterwards as news, not as a job. The ask that matters, a new app, is handed to you with your child’s reason attached, and Kairoo delivers your answer in your words. Asking for more time is not Kairoo’s idea: Apple, Microsoft, Qustodio on iOS and Norton all have a request. In each of them the request goes to a parent and the parent decides, every time. Kairoo’s difference is who answers and how.
- A choice at the limit, and something to gain from stopping. At every reminder your child chooses: stop early and bank the minutes, ask for more, or carry on and spend it. Stopping well earns a wider agreement, so freedom widens as trust is earned. That is a safe boundary in which to practise deciding for themselves, and the goal is a child who can stop on their own and no longer needs the app. On the six parental controls the limit is a block or a lock, a reminder the child can ignore, or an alert to you. Apple and Qustodio let you choose which, and so does Norton on Windows; on Family Link, Microsoft and Bark it is a lock or a block. More freedom, where their pages mention it at all, arrives when a parent changes the settings. TAP lets the teen renegotiate.
- Time and apps, and nothing else. Kairoo does not read messages, track location or show you a feed of what your child watched, and your child knows exactly what it can see, because they signed it. Family data is not sold, not shared and not used for advertising; there are no ads; Kairoo is registered with the ICO and built to the Children’s Code. Four of the seven products here show you where the device is, and two scan message content. That is a different job, and the next section sets out what it buys you.
Kairoo is a new approach, built in the UK with Nesta, on sixty years of research across eight bodies of work; the mechanism is set out on its own page. Screen time is where it starts.
Where the others go further
Kairoo does one job: it holds the agreement, and it sees time and apps against it. Several of the products here do more, and if you need any of it, they are the tools for it.
- Content filtering. Apple has Content & Privacy Restrictions, with web content limits on by default for under-18s. Family Link has Chrome website restrictions, SafeSearch and approval for new apps. Microsoft filters web and search in Edge, and apps and games by age. Qustodio has web filtering, Safe Search and blocking by app category. Norton blocks unsuitable content through its browser and extension. Bark filters the web by category. Kairoo does not filter content.
- Location. Family Link, Qustodio and Norton Family show you where the device is; so does Bark, outside the UK. Apple does it through Find My rather than Screen Time. Microsoft’s current UK page does not list it. Kairoo does not track location.
- Messages. Qustodio and Bark monitor or scan message content. Kairoo does not read messages.
- Nothing to pay. Screen Time is included with an Apple device, and Family Link and Microsoft Family Safety are free (all three checked 11 September 2026). Kairoo is in early access and hasn’t set a price.
- Nothing to install. Screen Time is part of an iPhone and lives in Settings, so there is nothing to install. Family Link’s daily limit shows under Settings on a child’s Android phone.
- Laptops, tablets and consoles. Qustodio covers Windows, Mac, Chromebook, iPad and Kindle. Norton covers Windows PCs and iOS devices. Microsoft covers Windows and Xbox. Apple covers iPad and Mac. Bark covers computers, Chromebooks and tablets, outside the UK. Kairoo is phones today.
- No enforcement, by design. TAP has no block and no timer; the teen keeps the pact and checks in. Kairoo holds the line on the device.
The products, one by one
Each is described the way its maker describes it, from the maker’s own pages, checked on 11 September 2026; TAP’s description is from its App Store listing. Where a page does not say, this page says “not described” rather than guessing. Six of the seven are parental controls in their makers’ own terms. TAP is not, by its own account, and is here because it is the closest to Kairoo in philosophy. Kairoo’s entry is what its own homepage says, and nothing more.
Kairoo
The screen time agreement you and your child both sign, and the app on both your phones that holds it; built in the UK in partnership with Nesta, and in early access. You and your child write the agreement together, once, in about ten minutes: when screens start and stop, how long, which apps, and how extra time can be asked for. Both of you sign it. From then on Kairoo does the daily work on your behalf: the reminders as the limit gets close, the negotiating when your child asks for more, the explaining, and the holding of the line. Every no comes with a reason, meaning what was asked for, what the agreement says and how today’s time was spent, and your child takes it up with Kairoo, not with you. At every reminder your child chooses to stop early and bank the minutes, ask for more, or carry on and spend it. Stopping well earns a wider agreement, and the goal is a child who can stop on their own. It sees time and apps. It does not read messages, track location or show you a feed of what your child watched; family data is not sold, not shared and not used for advertising; there are no ads; Kairoo is registered with the ICO and built to the Children’s Code. The mechanism rests on sixty years of research across eight bodies of work, set out on Kairoo’s own page. Android phones today. Free, no card (11 September 2026).
Apple Screen Time
Part of iPhone, iPad and Mac, so there is nothing to install. Apple describes it as a way to see how much time your child spends on their device and which apps and websites they use most, to schedule daily app limits, and to block content that is not age appropriate. You set it from your own device through Family Sharing, or on your child’s device behind a passcode. The rules shipped today are Downtime, App Limits, Always Allowed, Communication Limits and Content & Privacy Restrictions. By default a limit can be ignored once it is reached; the block is a setting you turn on. A reminder arrives five minutes before downtime. At the limit your child taps Ask for More Time, and you approve fifteen minutes, an hour or the whole day, or decline, on their device, from your own iPhone or from a notification. Your child can see the settings and their own activity summary in Settings on their device. Apple’s framing is to start focused and add over time, when a child is ready. Apple has announced more allowance features for this autumn; they are not counted here. Price: included with the device, checked 11 September 2026.
Google Family Link
Free, checked 11 September 2026. You set daily limits, School Time and Downtime schedules and per-app limits from the Family Link app or the web, with unlimited time for chosen apps, and you can block apps and require approval for new ones. Your child can view the current settings on their Android phone; changing them needs your sign-in or a Parent Access Code. When the daily limit comes the device locks: no notifications, no apps except those you have marked unlimited, and calls can still be answered. You can add bonus time or unlock it from your own phone. The locked screen shows an Ask for more time button, but Google’s pages describe it leading to a parent password prompt on the child’s device, and Google’s list of notification types has no entry for screen time requests. Family Link shows how much time your child spends on apps and can locate your child on a map, with alerts when they arrive at or leave a place. It manages contacts, calls and texts; no Google page says it reads message content. Google’s own FAQ says Family Link does not block inappropriate content, but gives you filtering options. Limits do not apply to a child’s iPhone.
Microsoft Family Safety
Free, checked 11 September 2026. You are the family organiser: you set limits, filters and permissions, and only organisers can see activity reports. Members add a device and can ask for more time through their own Family Safety app; you get a notification and choose whether to add it. Limits apply to Windows, Xbox and Android; Microsoft says mobile screen time applies only to Android, so it cannot limit a child’s iPhone. Activity reports, when turned on, show which apps and games were used and for how long, websites visited and Bing search terms in Edge, and daily and weekly device use. No message monitoring is listed. Location is not on the current UK product page. What your child can see of their own limits is not stated on the pages checked, and neither is the exact lock behaviour on each platform.
Qustodio
An app with a monitoring focus, and Qustodio describes it that way: it tracks browsing, social media and location in real time. You set daily limits for each day of the week, routines and per-app limits from the Parents App or the web, and can pause the internet. Your child has a Kids App that shows the daily limit, time left and time spent today, with warnings at fifteen minutes and at five. At the limit you choose one of three: lock the internet, lock the device, or email you. A request for extra time exists on the iOS Kids App only; you accept or decline in your app, and if you decline, Qustodio does not tell your child. The monitoring covers calls and messages, chat alerts for WhatsApp, Instagram, TikTok, Snapchat and X, YouTube, and saved places, with caveats by platform. It covers Windows, Mac, Chromebook, Android, iPhone, iPad and Kindle. Basic is £43.95 a year for five devices and Complete £75.95 a year for unlimited devices, on Qustodio’s pricing page, in pounds, 11 September 2026. A free plan exists; its contents were not itemised on the pages checked.
Norton Family
£14.99 for the first year on uk.norton.com, 11 September 2026, with Norton’s note that renewal prices may be higher; also included in Norton 360 Deluxe and Premium. You set house rules for Windows PCs, Android and iOS: time limits and schedules by day, with default rules suggested by age range. Norton’s marketing talks about helping your children set limits and about honest conversations; the documented mechanics have the parent setting every rule. Your child can see the rules for their device and the time remaining. At the limit Norton blocks or allows according to the rule, and on Windows you can choose to allow use but notify the child instead. Your child can ask for more time from the time’s up screen, pick a duration and add a note; if you approve, the time extends automatically, and if you decline, there is no further request until the end of the day. The same Norton page also carries a line saying the child cannot request more time from the alert; the step-by-step request flow is treated here as the current text. Daily limits are not available on iOS, which gets scheduling only. It supervises web use through Norton’s browser or extension, search terms and YouTube.com videos, app installs, and location with a thirty-day history. Text message supervision is currently disabled on Android.
Bark
Bark describes itself in monitoring terms: it monitors texts, email, YouTube and more than thirty apps and platforms, plus web searches and saved photos and videos, and alerts you to issues such as cyberbullying, online predators and suicidal ideation. It uses AI to read context rather than flag every message. Some platforms need your child’s login details at setup, and on iPhone message monitoring needs the optional Bark Sync charger. Location is real-time GPS with alerts. Screen time is handled with routines that schedule which apps are available when; daily minute caps exist only on the Bark Phone, where a two-minute warning precedes a limit and apps grey out with a message. Extra time is a parent override for the day; no Bark page describes a child requesting time. The Bark App is $14 a month or $99 a year in US dollars, 11 September 2026, and it is not sold in the UK: Bark’s FAQ lists the United States, South Africa and Australia. It is listed here for completeness; a UK parent cannot currently buy it.
TAP: Tech Activity Pact
TAP sits nearest to Kairoo in philosophy. Its App Store listing describes a pact as a screen time agreement the family builds together: a negotiation in which teens propose terms, parents respond, and everyone signs before it goes live. Both sides see the same dashboard, and TAP describes itself as the only screen time app where teens can formally renegotiate the rules. There is no monitoring by design: the teen posts a quick check-in to show they held up their end, with no background tracking. There is no device-level block or timer; the pact is honoured, not enforced, and consistent follow-through builds a family streak. That is the difference from Kairoo, which holds the line on the phone. iOS; Android availability and price not verified.
What they all have in common
- Asking for more time exists elsewhere. Apple has Ask for More Time. Microsoft has screen time requests, with a notification to you. Qustodio has a request on its iOS Kids App. Norton has I need more time, with a note. Family Link’s button leads to a parent password on the child’s device, and Bark has no request at all. Wherever a request exists, it goes to a parent and the parent decides. None of the makers’ pages checked describes an ask settled by an agreement without reaching the parent, or one decided inside a ceiling and reported afterwards.
- On the six parental controls here, a parent can add time. Apple approves it, Family Link adds bonus time, Microsoft adds more, Qustodio adds extra time, Norton extends it, Bark overrides for the day.
- Warnings before the limit. Apple gives five minutes before downtime, Qustodio fifteen and five, the Bark Phone two, and Family Link notifies when the device is about to lock. Kairoo gives gentle reminders as the limit gets close.
- The child can usually see their own rules. Screen Time settings sit on the child’s device, Family Link lets the child view the daily limit, Qustodio and Norton show the rules and time left in their kids’ apps, and TAP shows both sides the same dashboard. Microsoft’s and Bark’s pages do not say.
When Kairoo is not the right choice
- A younger child who needs content filtering. Kairoo does not filter content. Screen Time and Microsoft Family Safety include filtering, and Family Link gives you filtering options, all at no cost (11 September 2026); Qustodio and Norton Family sell it.
- You want to know where they are. Family Link, Qustodio and Norton Family do location. Kairoo does not track it.
- The built-in controls are working for you. Keep them. They cost nothing (11 September 2026); Screen Time is part of an iPhone, and Family Link’s daily limit shows under Settings on an Android phone.
- You need it on a tablet, a console, a laptop or the TV today. Kairoo is phones today; tablets, consoles and the TV are coming, with no date given. Microsoft covers Windows and Xbox now, Qustodio and Norton cover laptops now, and Apple covers iPad and Mac now.
- Your child will not sign. Then Kairoo’s own advice is not to install it. A Kairoo imposed on a child is just another wall.
- You want a track record. Kairoo is new and in early access, taken on a few families at a time. Its own page reports observations, not measured results, and this page adds none. The mechanism rests on sixty years of research; the product is young.
Sources, claim by claim
Every statement about another product on this page, with the maker’s page it was read from. All checked 11 September 2026.
- Screen Time is a feature of iPhone, iPad and Mac with no price listed; with Family Sharing the parent sets it up and manages it from their own iPhone, iPad, Mac or Apple Vision Pro, or turns it on from the child's iPhone or iPad. Checked 11 September 2026. support.apple.com/en-gb/108806
- Apple describes Screen Time as showing how much time a child spends on their device, including which apps and websites they use the most, with daily app limits and blocking of content that is not age appropriate. support.apple.com/en-gb/108806
- The Screen Time activity report includes how much time the child spends using apps and websites, how often they pick up their devices, and what apps send the most notifications. support.apple.com/en-gb/108806
- The rules Apple lists are Downtime (block apps and notifications for specific periods; only phone calls and apps you choose to allow are available), App Limits, Always Allowed, Communication Limits (choose who the child can communicate with) and Content & Privacy Restrictions. No message-content reporting to parents is described. support.apple.com/en-gb/108806
- The Screen Time settings and the App & Website Activity summary live in the Settings app on the child's device; the parent can lock Screen Time settings behind a four-digit passcode. support.apple.com/en-gb/108806
- When a device is set up for a child under 18, Communication Safety and web content limits are turned on by default and can later be managed in Screen Time settings. support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/iphone/set-up-screen-time-for-a-child-ipha200da319/26/ios/26
- The Apple user-guide pages read were the iOS 26 versions. support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/iphone/set-up-screen-time-for-a-child-ipha200da319/26/ios/26
- By default Screen Time limits can be ignored once reached. Block at Downtime is a setting the parent turns on; with it on, restricted apps appear dimmed with an hourglass icon, and with it off the child sees a reminder that it is downtime but can continue. support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/iphone/set-schedules-with-screen-time-iphb0c7313c9/26/ios/26
- A 5-minute reminder is sent before downtime begins. support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/iphone/set-schedules-with-screen-time-iphb0c7313c9/26/ios/26
- After reaching a Downtime or App Limits time limit the child can ask the parent to allow more time (Ask for More Time). The parent enters the Screen Time passcode and taps Approve for 15 minutes, Approve for an hour, Approve all day or Don't Approve, and can also approve or deny directly from notifications and Messages. support.apple.com/en-gb/guide/iphone/iph74e434e84/ios
- Apple frames parental controls as start focused, add over time: parents allow more when a child is ready. www.apple.com/uk/families
- Apple's UK families page says that when children reach the end of their time allowance they get a notification and can ask parents for more time. www.apple.com/uk/families
- Guidance for time allowances and flexible schedules for school days and weekends are marked Coming this autumn on apple.com/uk/families as of 11 September 2026; Ask to Browse is described there too. None of these is treated as current on this page. www.apple.com/uk/families
- A Child Account is required for children under 13 and available for children up to 18. www.apple.com/uk/families
- Apple offers location sharing through Find My on its families page; its Screen Time page lists no location feature. www.apple.com/uk/families
- Family Link lets the parent set daily time limits with School Time and Downtime schedules, set individual app time limits with unlimited time for educational or regularly used apps, and block apps. families.google/familylink
- Family Link can locate children on one map while they carry their device, with alerts when the child arrives at or leaves a certain location. families.google/familylink
- Family Link offers website and browser restrictions, SafeSearch, blocking of inappropriate sites, approval for new apps and permission management, and manages communication settings for contacts, calls and text; no Google page checked says it reads message content. families.google/familylink
- Google says parents can check how much time their child spends on certain apps. support.google.com/families/answer/16398726?hl=en-GB
- Google's FAQ: Family Link does not block inappropriate content, but the settings within provide filtering options. families.google/familylink/faq
- Google's FAQ: teens aged 13 to 17 need parental approval to stop supervision. families.google/familylink/faq
- Google's FAQ: Android 7.0 or higher is recommended for supervised children; Chromebooks are supported; children on iOS or the web are only partially supervised and screen time limits do not apply there; parents can run Family Link on Android 5.0+ or iOS 11+. families.google/familylink/faq
- The child can view the current daily limit settings on their own Android device; editing them needs a parent sign-in or the Parent Access Code. The child gets a notification when their device is about to be locked. support.google.com/families/answer/7103340?hl=en-GB
- When the device is locked the child cannot see notifications or use apps other than Unlimited time apps, can answer calls, and can tap Emergency to make a call. support.google.com/families/answer/7103340?hl=en-GB
- The parent can add bonus time remotely from the Family Link app while the device is locked or about to be locked, or unlock it from the app; daily limits apply per device, so a two-hour limit gives two hours on each device. support.google.com/families/answer/7103340?hl=en-GB
- On the child's device, Ask for more time leads to a prompt for the password of the parent's account, or the parent access code. Google adds that whether or not the child can control their own account settings does not change the settings themselves. support.google.com/families/answer/7307262?hl=en-GB
- Google's list of Family Link notification types has no entry for screen time requests; it lists new-app requests and website requests. support.google.com/families/answer/7184159?hl=en-GB
- The Family Link parent app is listed as Free with no in-app purchases on the UK App Store, seller Google LLC, checked 11 September 2026. apps.apple.com/gb/app/google-family-link/id1150085200
- Family organisers are the administrators of a family group: they add and remove members, manage limits and permissions, and view activity for members that have reporting enabled; organisers manage screen time by setting limits and reviewing activity. support.microsoft.com/en-gb/family-safety/roles-permissions-and-data-sharing-in-family-safety
- Members add a device to enable screen time and app and web filters, and can request purchase approvals or ask for more time on their devices through their Family Safety app. support.microsoft.com/en-gb/family-safety/roles-permissions-and-data-sharing-in-family-safety
- Whether the child can see their own limits is not stated on the pages checked. support.microsoft.com/en-gb/family-safety/roles-permissions-and-data-sharing-in-family-safety
- Microsoft: you decide when and for how long family members can use their connected Windows, Xbox and mobile devices. support.microsoft.com/en-gb/family-safety/set-screen-time-limits-across-devices
- Mobile screen time only applies to Android devices; on Xbox, screen time counts as long as the member is signed in. The exact lock behaviour per platform is not spelled out on the pages checked. support.microsoft.com/en-gb/family-safety/set-screen-time-limits-across-devices
- Screen time limits cover Windows 10 and 11, Xbox One and Xbox Series X and S, and Android apps and games, managed with the Family Safety app on Android and iOS. www.microsoft.com/en-gb/microsoft-365/family-safety
- When screen time runs out, the parent chooses whether to add more time; the feature list includes screen time requests; web and search filters work in Microsoft Edge, with app and game content filters and content filter requests. No message monitoring or location feature is listed on the current UK product page. www.microsoft.com/en-gb/microsoft-365/family-safety
- The parent app's description says: get notifications if a child requests more time. The app is listed as Free on the UK App Store, seller Microsoft Corporation, checked 11 September 2026. apps.apple.com/gb/app/microsoft-family-safety/id1489209093
- Activity reporting shows which apps and games the family member used and for how long, websites visited and terms searched for with Bing while signed in to a supported browser, and daily and weekly details of device use; only organisers can enable, disable and view activity reports. support.microsoft.com/en-gb/family-safety/view-device-and-app-use-with-family-safety-activity-reporting
- Qustodio: track your child's browsing, social media, location, and more, all in real time. www.qustodio.com/en/premium
- Qustodio's listed features include daily time limits, routines, games and apps time limits, web filtering, Safe Search, blocking by app category, 30-day activity reports, YouTube monitoring, calls and messages monitoring (iOS needs a Windows or Mac computer), social monitoring with WhatsApp, Instagram, TikTok, Snapchat and X chat alerts, location monitoring, saved places alerts and pause internet access. www.qustodio.com/en/premium
- Qustodio prices in pounds on 11 September 2026: Basic 43.95 pounds a year for up to 5 devices; Complete 75.95 pounds a year for unlimited devices; before the advertised SMART10 code. www.qustodio.com/en/premium
- A free Qustodio plan exists (Get started free; Download Qustodio for free); its contents are not itemised on the pages checked. www.qustodio.com/en/downloads
- Qustodio child devices: Windows, Mac, Chromebook, Android, iPhone/iPad and Kindle; parents use the iOS or Android app or Qustodio Web. www.qustodio.com/en/downloads
- Parents set screen time limits for each day of the week, schedule screen-free times, and can instantly pause internet access; devices under one child profile share the same limits. help.qustodio.com/hc/en-us/articles/360005216797-How-to-set-time-limits-with-Qustodio
- At the limit the parent chooses one of three: Lock navigation (prevent web browsing and internet access), Lock device (block apps on Android, hide apps on iOS, log out of session on desktop), or Alert me (receive an email when the child reaches their limit). help.qustodio.com/hc/en-us/articles/360005216797-How-to-set-time-limits-with-Qustodio
- On iOS a notice is shown 15 and 5 minutes before the device is locked; on Android every minute from 5 minutes before the limit. With Lock device on Android the child can only call emergency numbers or trusted contacts set with the Panic Button, and can open the Qustodio app. help.qustodio.com/hc/en-us/articles/360005216617-What-happens-when-I-set-time-limits-with-Qustodio
- The Kids App lets the child view their activity and time spent, activate the panic button, receive time limit alerts, request extra time and see blocked content alerts; on Android it shows the daily limit and time left and time spent today by app; on iOS it shows how much time they have for the day or whether a routine is active. help.qustodio.com/hc/en-us/articles/27037395098642-What-can-my-child-see-and-do-with-Qustodio
- The parent adds extra time from the What's happening now card. The child's request is available only on the iOS Qustodio Kids App, 15 minutes before the limit or once the device is blocked; the parent accepts or denies in the Parents App notifications centre; if declined, Qustodio does not tell the child; the feature can be turned off. help.qustodio.com/hc/en-us/articles/360016761958-What-is-extra-time-and-how-can-I-use-it
- Norton Family is 14.99 pounds a year on uk.norton.com, checked 11 September 2026; it automatically renews unless cancelled, the price is subject to change and renewal prices may be higher than the initial price; it is included in Norton 360 Deluxe and Norton 360 Premium; a 30-day free trial needs a payment method. uk.norton.com/products/norton-family
- Norton Family sets time limits or schedules times or days of the week the child can use their Windows PC, Android or iOS devices. uk.norton.com/products/norton-family
- Norton's marketing says it helps your children set limits around their device usage, that safe and healthy online habits start with honest conversations, and that it shows the search terms and videos that interest your children so you can discuss them. uk.norton.com/products/norton-family
- Norton Family supervision covers when children are online (time calculation on Windows and Android), web use with blocking of unsuitable content, YouTube.com videos, app installs, and the location of Android and iOS devices with a 30-day history, Favorite Locations, Alert Me and Check In (not in all countries). uk.norton.com/products/norton-family
- Text message supervision and call blocking features are currently disabled on Android. support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/norton-family/current/solutions/v117721650
- Norton Family child devices: Windows 7 SP1 and later up to Windows 11, not Windows in S mode; Android 8 or later; the current and previous two iOS versions; Mac is not supported as a child device; not all features on all platforms. uk.norton.com/products/norton-family
- Norton offers View Default House Rule by age range; the default daily limits are 2 hours on weekdays and 5 hours at weekends; the daily time limit option is not available in iOS. support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/home/current/solutions/v125229896
- Based on the house rule, time supervision blocks or allows the child's use of the device; on a Windows PC the parent picks Monitor (allow use but notify the child) or Block; a parent-set 4-digit PIN lets the child unlock an Android device in an emergency. support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/home/current/solutions/v125229896
- The child can see the rules for their device and the remaining time: on Android under Rules For This Device, and on Windows via View Time Remaining in the tray icon. The parent can Extend User Time from any device, until the next sign-in or the rest of the day, or until a set time. support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/norton-family/current/solutions/v110242968_nortonfamily_help_en_us
- On the time's up screen the child clicks I need more time or Ask your parents for more time, selects a duration, adds a note and submits; if the parent approves, the device time extends automatically; if the parent declines, no further request is possible until the end of the curfew period or the end of the day. support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/norton-family/current/solutions/v110242968_nortonfamily_help_en_us
- The same Norton page also states that the child cannot request more time from the time limit reached alert; this page treats the step-by-step request flow as the current text. support.norton.com/sp/en/uk/norton-family/current/solutions/v110242968_nortonfamily_help_en_us
- Bark: from your parent app, you manage everything: block websites, track location, and review alerts. www.bark.us/bark-app
- Bark monitors texts, email, YouTube and 30+ apps and platforms, web searches and saved photos and videos, and sends alerts for issues like cyberbullying, online predators and suicidal ideation; rather than flagging every message it uses AI and natural language processing to understand context. www.bark.us/bark-app
- For some social media platforms, Bark monitoring requires entering the child's login credentials during setup; on iPhone and iPad, Bark says Apple's privacy protections mean third-party apps cannot read what is on the device, and the optional Bark Sync charger helps close that gap. www.bark.us/bark-app
- Bark offers real-time GPS tracking and location alerts, including whether the child is walking, biking or driving and how fast, plus web filtering and blocking of apps and websites. www.bark.us/bark-app
- The Bark App is compatible with iPhones, iPads, Android phones and tablets, laptops, computers, Chromebooks and Amazon Fire tablets. www.bark.us/bark-app
- The Bark App is available in the United States (including US territories), South Africa and Australia; the Bark Phone is only available to families in the US; no UK price exists. www.bark.us/faq
- Bark's FAQ says children cannot adjust their own screen time limits from the Bark for Kids app, and lists contact approvals, app install approvals, remote alarms and daily screen time limits as Bark Phone exclusives; no Bark page checked describes a child requesting more time. www.bark.us/faq
- On iPhones and Androids the Bark Kids app uses routines to schedule which apps and sites the child can access during the day; a daily app time limit feature is exclusive to the Bark Phone. support.bark.us/hc/en-us/articles/28748730119181-Can-I-set-screen-time-limits-on-iPhones-and-Androids
- On the Bark Phone the child gets a 2-minute warning before reaching a limit; when a limit is reached apps grey out and a message lets the child know; with an All apps limit everything but the Phone app is inaccessible until 3:30am; the parent can tap Override just for today, and Bark has an article on adding bonus screen time. support.bark.us/hc/en-us/articles/14713155804813-Set-daily-time-limits-for-apps-on-the-Bark-Phone
- The Bark Kids app is required on the child's device for screen time controls and location tracking to work; what the child can see of their own rules is not stated on the pages checked. support.bark.us/en/articles/13461305-kids-app
- Bark App pricing: $14 a month or $99 a year (USD), with a single subscription covering every child and device; Bark Sync is $6 a month or $49 a year; checked 11 September 2026. www.bark.us/pricing
- TAP's App Store listing describes a pact as a screen time agreement the family builds together, an actual negotiation where teens propose terms, parents respond, and everyone signs before it goes live. apps.apple.com/gb/app/id6759011242
- TAP describes itself as the only screen time app where teens can formally renegotiate the rules, and says both sides see the same dashboard. apps.apple.com/gb/app/id6759011242
- TAP: teens post a quick check-in showing they held up their end, with no background tracking and no app surveillance; TAP says it teaches negotiation, discipline and self-management, not surveillance and enforcement. apps.apple.com/gb/app/id6759011242
- TAP describes no device-level block, timer or enforcement; consistent follow-through builds a family streak. apps.apple.com/gb/app/id6759011242
- TAP is listed on the App Store (id6759011242); the facts file records its price and Android availability as not verified, and this page says so. apps.apple.com/gb/app/id6759011242
Questions parents ask about this
“Isn’t Kairoo just a parental control app with a signature on it?”
No. A parental control is a wall you put up and hold. Kairoo is an intelligent layer between you and your child’s phone: your child helps write the rules and signs them, then Kairoo does the reminding, negotiating, explaining and holding of the line on your behalf. Every no carries a reason, and freedom widens as your child stops well. If they won’t sign, don’t install it.
“Apple Screen Time already lets my child ask for more time. What does Kairoo add?”
It does, and so do Microsoft Family Safety, Qustodio on iOS and Norton Family. In each of them the request goes to you and you decide. With Kairoo the everyday ask is answered by the agreement, with nothing reaching your phone. A bigger ask is decided inside the ceiling you set and reported afterwards. Only asks outside the agreement come to you.
“Can Kairoo filter what my child sees online, like Qustodio or Family Link?”
No. Kairoo sees time and apps against the agreement your child signed, and nothing else. It does not filter content. If you need that, Apple Screen Time and Microsoft Family Safety include filtering and Google Family Link gives you filtering options, all at no cost (11 September 2026); Qustodio and Norton Family sell it. That is a different job from the one Kairoo does.
“Does Kairoo track where my child is?”
No. Kairoo does not track location, read messages or show you a feed of what your child watched. Google Family Link, Qustodio and Norton Family offer location, as does Bark outside the UK; Apple does it through Find My rather than Screen Time. If knowing where your child is matters to you, one of those is the tool for it, and Kairoo is not.
“Screen Time and Family Link are free. Why would I use Kairoo?”
If the built-in controls work for you, keep them. They cost nothing (11 September 2026), and Screen Time is part of the phone. Kairoo is for the family where the parent is the only off-switch and every limit is an argument: it takes that job off you. It is a new approach, built in the UK with Nesta, and free: no card needed.
“How is Kairoo different from TAP?”
They share the starting point: the rules are negotiated and everyone signs. TAP then relies on the teen to honour the pact and to post a daily check-in, with no tracking and no device-level enforcement, by design. Kairoo holds the line on the phone: the reminders, the no at the limit and the reason all happen on the device, whether or not anyone checks in.
“Does Kairoo cover a tablet, a console or a laptop?”
Not today. Kairoo is phones today; tablets, consoles and the TV are coming, with no date given. If you need those now, Microsoft Family Safety covers Windows and Xbox, Qustodio covers Windows, Mac, Chromebook, iPad and Kindle, Norton Family covers Windows PCs, and Apple Screen Time covers iPad and Mac.
“How is Kairoo different from Google Family Link?”
Family Link is free and the parent sets every limit from their own phone: daily limits, School Time and Downtime schedules, and per-app limits. When the daily limit comes, the child’s Android phone locks, and the Ask for more time button leads to a parent password on the child’s device. Family Link can also show you where your child is. With Kairoo, you and your child write the agreement together and both sign it. At the limit your child gets a reminder and a choice: stop and bank the minutes, ask Kairoo for more, or spend it, and every no comes with a reason. Everyday asks are settled by the agreement and never reach your phone. Kairoo sees time and apps only, and does not track location. Both cost nothing (checked 11 September 2026).
If the agreement is what you were missing
Kairoo is in early access and hasn’t set a price.
Join the next group